The ShSU Scientific Council is a collegiate body that plans, coordinates and directs the educational-methodological, scientific-research and scientific-technical activity of the University.

The term of office of the Scientific Council is 5 (five) years. The meetings of the Scientific Council are held at least 8 times during the academic year.

The number of the Scientific Council members can’t be over 40 of which 50% are elective.

The Scientific Council consists of the rector who, by his position, is the President of the Scientific Council, the vice-rectors and the Heads of the corresponding ShSU subdivisions, as well as the elected members in accordance with the ShSU Statute. 25% of the ShSU Scientific Council members are students proposed by the Department Student Councils and elected by the ShSU Student Council.